About us

Archaeological Survey of India, Chennai Circle, formerly called Southern Circle covering whole area of the then Madras Presidency was established in the year 1881. Sir Alexander Rea became the first Superintendent in 1902. Subsequently, great scholars like A.H. Longhurst, Pundit Hirananda Shastri, H.Hayatkhan, T.N.Ramachandran, V.D.Krishnaswamy, Krishna Deva, K.R. Srinivasan, K.V.Soundararajan and others headed the Southern Circle. The geographical jurisdiction of Chennai Circle is: Tamil Nadu State (except the Districts of Tirunelveli, Kanniyakumari and the Nilgiris), Andhra Pradesh (Chittur District) and the Union Territory of Puducherry. Total number of Centrally Protected Monuments under the jurisdiction of Chennai Circle: 251. Total Number of Centrally Protected Sites under the jurisdiction of Chennai Circle: 160.

The Group of Monuments at Mahabalipuram, Sri Brihadeswara Temple at Thanjavur and Gangaikondacholapuram, Sri Airavateswara Temple at Darasuram have been declared as World Heritage Sites by the UNESCO.

The activities of this circle include: exploration, excavation, conservation and preservation of monuments, documentation of loose sculptures and excavated antiquities, organizing cultural awareness programme on different themes on the occasion of important days every year. Pursuant to the issue of Ancient Monuments and Archaeological Sites and Remains (Amendment and Validation) Act, 2010, the Archaeological Survey of India, Chennai Circle monitors construction activities in the prohibited and regulated areas of national monuments and sites under its jurisdiction.

Conservation/preservation of monuments/sites are carried out departmentally through the Senior Conservation Assistants/ Conservation Assistants of the ten sub-circles. The ten sub-circle offices are at Chennai, Gingee, Kanchipuram, Mamallapuram, Puducherry, Salem, Thanjavur, Tirumayam, Trichy and Vellore.

Chennai Circle office is located at Fort St.George, Chennai – 600 009.
Head of Office:

M Kalimuthu
Superintending Archaeologist

Deputy Superintending Archaeological Engineer Shri  Shaik Jilani Basha
Assistant Superintending Archaeological Engineer Shri  Atluri Sathyam
Assistant Superintending Archaeological Engineer Shri  PVNCM Easwar
Assistant Superintending Archaeologist Shri P. Aravazhi
Administrative Officer Shri R. Raghu
Administrative Officer Smt. A. Latha
Chennai Shri Ram Krishnan.P
Junior Conservation Assistant
Gingee Shri Vuragayala Naveendra Reddy.V
Junior Conservation Assistan
Kanchipuram Smt. Akalya.k
Junior Conservation Assistant
Mamallapuram Shri Syed Ismail
Senior Conservation Assistant
Puducherry Shri Syed Ismail
Senior Conservation Assistant
Salem Shri. Saju V.D
Conservation Assistant
Vellore Shri Korada Rama Rao
Conservation Assistant
Chennai Shri Selvam.X
Horticulture Assistant
Gingee Shri Prasath.k
Horticulture Assistant
Kanchipuram Shri Prasath.k
Horticulture Assistant
Mamallapuram Shri Selvam.X
Horticulture Assistant
Puducherry Shri Selvam.X
Horticulture Assistant
Salem Shri Prasath.k
Horticulture Assistant
Vellore Shri Prasath.k
Horticulture Assistant

List of Officers and Staff at Circle Office – View